MOCA Local Genius Awards 2016

MOCA Local Genius Awards 2016

Saturday, 16 April, 2016

The Board of Trustees and Gala Committee invite you to honor and celebrate the cultural, intellectual, social, environmental, scientific, and economic contributions of the 2016 MOCA Local Genius Awardees.

The MOCA Local Genius Awards were established to honor those visionary and innovative Tucsonans whose activities have a global impact, and whose talents have been internationally recognized.

Cocktails, auction, dinner under the stars, awards program, and dancing at MOCA, 265 S. Church Avenue. Dress to impress – Black Tie Requested

6:00pm – Members only champagne and silent auction preview
6:30pm – All other guests

Catering by MOCA Local Genius Emeritus Janos Wilder of Downtown Kitchen + Cocktails and The Carriage House!

For Gala Attendees: How to Attend the Gala


2016 MOCA Local Genius Awardees

Brad Lancaster
– Leading expert in the field of rainwater harvesting and water management. He is also a permaculture teacher, designer, consultant, and co-founder of Desert Harvesters non-profit organization.

Mort Rosenblum – Reporter, author, and educator, has covered stories on seven continents since the 1960s. Past editor of the International Herald Tribune; special correspondent for the Associated Press; AP bureau chief in Africa, Southeast Asia, Argentina, and France; and founding editor of the quarterly, dispatches.  He teaches international reporting at the University of Arizona and is a champion of journalistic integrity.

Andrew Weil, M.D. – Harvard-trained M.D. and world-renowned leader and pioneer in integrative medicine. Dr. Weil is the Founder and Director of the University of Arizona Center for Integrative Medicine, Clinical Professor of Medicine, and best-selling author of 13 books on health, wellness, and natural and preventive medicine.

Ofelia Zepeda – Regents’ Professor of Linguistics at the University of Arizona who champions the preservation of the Tohono O’odham language and promotes literacy in the language. She wrote the first teaching grammar used to preserve the Tohono O’odham language and has served as the Poet Laureate of Tucson, AZ.

lga headshots combined

Clockwise from top left: Brad Lancaster, Mort Rosenblum, Ofelia Zepeda, Andrew Weil, M.D.

For full press release, CLICK HERE.





Gala Committee

Kim Bourn** Co-Chair

Randi Dorman* Co-Chair


Carolyn Bass*

Leah Bogen

Kira Dixon-Weinstein*

Michael Guymon*

Angela Kapp

Terri Kessler*

Donna Knight

Pamela Harrington

Maryann Hesseldenz

Colleen LaFleur*

Taber MacCallum*

Courtney McEniry*

Skya Nelson*

Jenny Philllips

Walter Richter

Cita Scott

Stacey Spink

Jocelyn Stoller**

Joanne Stuhr*

Paula Taylor

Danny Vinik*


*MOCA Board of Directors

**MOCA Ambassador Council